View Full Version : SG 101

Richard T Eger
09-04-2004, 03:59 PM
From 12 O'Clock High!:

Mark R.
wahkita@worldnet.att.net
Schlachtgeschwader Chain of Command
Tue Aug 24, 2024 23:42

Hello, this is my first time posting anything, however, I am very impressed with the depth of knowledge I have seen on this site. Plus I recognize a number of authors names...
I normally do not research LW topics, but having just finished editing the Seventh Army War Diaries for Normandy, I decided to examine the Luftwaffe's participation in that campaign a bit more closely. On the surface, it seems as if the LW did more than the ordinary landser (or his commander) would give them credit for. If anything, German pilots faced even more daunting odds than infantry or panzer soldiers. In my initial bout of research (prior to recieving two orders from the PRO and a planned trip to Maxwell AFB) within whose chain of command did SG 101 and SG 103 fall? I do not see them listed under Luftflotte 3. Any help would be greatly appreciated and I hope to be able to return the favor soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Reardon

Richard T Eger
09-04-2004, 03:59 PM
From TOCH!:

Steve W.
SG 101 and SG 103
Wed Aug 25, 2024 00:37

These were training (school) Geschwader that came under the training chain of command. Nearly all matters involving chain of command subordination break down into (1) administrative, (2) operational/tactical, (3) discipline, and (4) housekeeping. In some cases a unit could report to separate bosses for all four of these. So to be more specific you will have to tell us the exact date you are concerned with and which subordination you are interested in.

Steve W.

Richard T Eger
09-04-2004, 04:00 PM
From TOCH!:

Mark R.
Thanks
Wed Aug 25, 2024 03:40

Steve,