The Luftwaffe Archives & Records Reference Group  

Go Back   The Luftwaffe Archives & Records Reference Group > NAMED AREAS OF INTEREST > Document Handling Issues

Old 04-13-2003, 10:46 AM
Administrator

Default Copying blueprints

From 12 O'Clock High!:

Jared Zichek
jzichek@hotmail.com
Affordable digital camera for photographing big blueprints?
Thu Feb 27 19:56:42 2024

Greetings,

Since we are on the subject of archives, microfilm scanning, etc., I thought I would also post a question that might also generate useful discussion. I do quite a lot of research in the US National Archives, and I often come across large sheets of blueprints, maps, etc. It costs a small fortune to get these reproduced by the usual means, so I would like to photograph these with a digital camera and trace the resulting images in Adobe Illustrator, if necessary. Can anyone recommend a high resolution digital camera for $500 or less that could do the job? I'm a complete newbie when it comes to digital cameras, so please excuse me if the question is too broad.

Thank you,

Jared Zichek
Old 04-13-2003, 10:47 AM
Administrator

From TOCH!:

Andreas Brekken
Why digital camera??
Fri Feb 28 10:04:05 2024

Hi, Jared

I am just curious to why You want to use a low end digital camera.

I think I would rather get a goodish ordinary camera and then scan the resulting image in a more or less standard scanner. I do believe that You will be better off that way, and be able to test lenses etc which will give you a good result.

If You want to use a variety of lenses with a professional digital housing, You are out of your budget range as You very well know.

BTW, I would encourage You to move these questions to the LWAG forum on Stormbirds.

Regards,
Andreas
Old 04-13-2003, 10:48 AM
Administrator

From TOCH!:

Stephen
A decent 35mm SLR with Kodak Tech-Pan film should do! n/t (nm)
Fri Feb 28 14:18:14 2024
Old 04-13-2003, 10:50 AM
Administrator

From TOCH!:

dsf